Highlights from 2012-2013


2012 Incoming M.A. Class


Click here to open Pictures of the 2012 Orientation

Click here to open Pictures of the 2012 Picnic

Click here to open Pictures of the 2012 Out of the Darkness Walk for Suicide Prevention

Click here to open Pictures of the 2012 All Ohio Counselor Conference and OSU Reception

Click here to open Pictures of the 2012 Year-End Banquet & Graduation Ceremony


 Congratulations and “Kudos” to…

Congratulations to Todd Gibbs (doctoral student) who received the Ohio Association for Counselor Education & Supervision (OACES) Outstanding Doctoral Student for the state of Ohio. Todd received this award at the annual OACES spring summit meeting in April.

WELL DONE to students who attended the Sexual Violence Workshop sponsored by Chi Sigma Iota on Saturday, April 13. Thank you to the speakers (Lt. Shawn Bain, Jennifer Edwards, Lisa Hinkelman) and to Mrs. C and alumna Lauren Pryor who was there to assist! Students in attendance were:
Stefanee Wolford
Celeste Redman
Stephanie Eich
Emelie Heltsley
JP Oehrtman
Emily McClure
Robert Pence
Katie Edwards
Sarah Stevenson

Congratulations to Renae Mayes (doctoral student) who was selected to attend the AERA Division E Graduate Student Seminar at the national conference in San Francisco in April 2013.

Congratulations to Allisha Young (doctoral student) who had her proposal accepted for the American Association for Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities Conference, which will take place in Pittsburgh this June.

Congratulations to Abe Saunders (2nd yr. M.A. student) who received the 2013 American College Counseling Association (ACCA) “Emerging Leader Award.” The award includes registration for the ACA conference, training and leadership opportunities through ACCA, and the opportunity to submit an article for publication in theACCA Visions newsletter.

Congratulations to Dr. Paul Granello who was interviewed by WOSU (local National Public Radio station) for his work in screening middle and high school students at risk for suicide.  The story is in response to (1) the increase in suicide rates among adolescents in Franklin County; and (2) the new Ohio law that says all teachers and staff in public schools must be trained in suicide prevention. The interview was broadcast Monday, January 7, 2013. Here is the link to the website with more information and the audio:

 Congratulations and thank you to Chi Sigma Iota Officers and everyone who participated in the Theoretical Mini Conference. On Saturday, January 12, counselor education students had the opportunity to explore a case from several different theoretical perspectives, thanks to the organization of Chi Sigma Iota officers and doctoral students, faculty, and alumni who served as speakers. Well done, everyone!

Attendees at the 2013 Theoretical Mini Conference


Congratulation to Renae Mayes (doctoral student) who received a $1,500 Association for Counselor Education and Supervision grant for her doctoral research, “Investigating Twice Exceptionality: Voices of African American Students and Parents.” She will be honored at the October ACES Conference in Denver.

Congratulations to Dr. Katharine Feister who earned her Ph.D. from the Counselor Education program in December, 2012.

Congratulations to 2nd year School Counseling Students who received grants for their innovative projects for their internships.

Jackie Delany (Metro High School) How to apply to college web series ($1000, Ann Sherry Foundation)
Natalie Deutsch (Arts Impact Middle School [AIMS]) Zumba: Making moves at AIMS ($385, Ann Sherry Foundation)
Cynthia Durbin (5th Ave. International K-8 School) Books: Books Offer Our Kids Support ( $500, Ingram Teachers’ Grants)
melie Heltsley (Arts Impact Middle School [AIMS]) Read, Lead, Succeed ($312, Ingram Teachers’ Grants)
Nancy Hirsch (Kae Ave Elementary School in Whitehall) How to talk so kids will listen ($1750, Ann Sherry Foundation)
Celeste Redman
(Columbus Preparatory Academy) Bullying basics ($410, Ann Sherry Foundation)


CONGRATULATIONS to the OSU Counselor Education Team in the Out of the Darkness Walk to Prevent Suicide! Under the leadership of Team Captain, Amy Buffomante, we had 51 participants walk in the October 7th event and raised nearly $3500! The OSU Counselor Education team was #4 in Central Ohio for fundraising, and Chelsi McLain was the top fundraiser for our team (>$1500)! There’s still time to donate at this website. Click here to go to a slideshow of the event.

CONGRATULATIONS to 15 first year M.A. students who have been selected as volunteers for the 2012 All Ohio Counselors Conference (Oct 31-Nov 2). Student volunteers are: Kris Carson, Jessica Cutshall, Katie Doherty, Kristen Howell, Rachel Jones, Valerie Lakes, Lisa Longo, Emily McClure, J.P. Oehrtman, Jordan Pastor, Robert Pence, Kasey Randles, Colleen Reinoehl, Sarah Widdoes, Amy Wiginton

CONGRATULATIONS to Becca Elias (2nd year student) who ran the air force half marathon this summer. Click here for a picture of Becca and her cousins after the race.

CONGRATULATIONS to Dr. Darcy Haag Granello, who was quoted in an article on suicide prevention in the September 24, 2012 Columbus Dispatch. Click here to go to the article.

THE OSU Counselor Education Program is once again well-represented at the All Ohio Counselor’s Conference. This year, 27 of the conference workshops have presenters who are OSU students, alumni, and/or faculty. Click here for a listing of OSU Presenters at the AOCC Conference

WELL DONE! to our student volunteers who worked with Mental Health America of Franklin County (MHAFC) at the 10TV Health & Fitness Expo on August 18-19. Our student volunteers provided much needed mental health information to hundreds of Franklin County residents, and worked with MHAFC to complete over 100 mental health screenings.

CONGRATULATIONS to Dr. Colette Dollarhide, who has been named Associate Professor with tenure!

CONGRATULATIONS to Dr. Colette Dollarhide, who has been elected president-elect of the Ohio Association for Counselor Education and Supervision (OACES). OACES, one of seven divisions of the Ohio Counseling Association (OCA), fosters the advancement of counseling and human development as the primary state association for counselor educators and supervisors.

Stefanee Wolford, Liz Collette, Amy Buffomante, Celeste Redman, and Julia Garnica, all 2nd year M.A. students, kept up-to-date with their group counseling skills this summer, as they ran on “Team Curative Factors” in the Color Run in Columbus in July.


Other Important Information:

Chi Sigma Iota Officers for the 2012-2013 Academic Year:

President: Liz Collette
Vice President: Stephanie Eich
Secretary: Emelie Heltsley
Treasurer: Amy Buffomante
Social Co-Chairs: Celeste Redman & Stefanee Wolford

Link to OSU Chapter of Chi Sigma Iota