Highlights from 2017-2018

Highlights from the 2017-2018 Academic Year

2017 Incoming Class


Focus on Student & Faculty Strengths

Each week in the 2018-2019 academic year, the OSU Counselor Education Program will again highlight a personal strength (based on the VIA strength finder, available at: viacharacter.org). Students & faculty with each of these strengths will be celebrated each week. Congratulations to all of our students & faculty who use their strengths to be outstanding counselors, educators, and advocates.


Orientation: August 20, 2018

Counselor Education Picnic: September 16, 2018

Out of the Darkness Walk for Suicide Prevention: October 7, 2018

All Ohio Counselors Conference: November 7-9, 2018

OSU Reception: Thursday, November 8, 2018

Deadline for Applications (Autumn, 2019): December 1, 2018

Admissions Interview Day for PhD Program (by invitation only): TBA

Admissions Interview Day for M.A. Program (by invitation only): TBA

M.A. Comprehensive Exams: TBA

Specialized Training through the SMART Lab: TBA

Year-End Banquet: May 4, 2019


Congratulations to doctoral students Rosie Bauder, Shelby Coen, Gayle Garcia, and Tyler Hudson, who together won 3rd place in the national ACA Ethics Competition. They will be recognized at the annual ACA convention during the awards ceremony on Saturday, April 28, in Atlanta.

Congratulations to Dr. Colette Dollarhide & Dr. Darcy Haag Granello, who each received state-level awards at the All Ohio Counselor Conference. Dr. Dollarhide received the Counselor Educator of the Year award from OSCA. Dr. Haag Granello received the Herman Peters Award for Innovation in Counseling from OCA.



Congratulations to Doctoral Student, Shelby Coen, who received the American College Counseling Association Emerging Scholar Award & Scholarship to attend the 2018 ACCA National Conference.


Welcome Ford Manning Hudson! Born to doctoral student Tyler Hudson & wife Jamie on 10-6-2017


Dr. Colette Dollarhide, NCACES

Congratulations to Dr. Colette Dollarhide, recipient of the North Central Association for Counselor Education & Supervision (NCACES) 2017 Outstanding Professional Teaching Award. She received the award at the ACES National Conference in Chicago, October 2017.




OSU Counselor Education Faculty and Doctoral Students attended and presented at the national Association for Counselor Education and Supervision Conference in Chicago, October, 2017. Doctoral student presenters were: Yahyahan Aras; Gayle Garcia; Sarah Geiger; Sean Gorby; Maria Lammy; JP Oehrtman; CJ Potter; & Krista Predragovich.

OSU Counselor Education Students, Alumni, and Faculty are once again well-represented at the All Ohio Counselor Conference, November, 2017. Click here for a listing of workshops by OSU Presenters.

Krista Predragovich (doctoral student) was a recipient of the Ohio Counseling Association 2017 Research Grant to help support her dissertation research

Dr. Colette Dollarhide is the recipient of the North Central Association for Counselor Education and Supervision’s Outstanding Professional Teaching Award. (award presentation: October 6, 2017, at the ACES Conference).


Dr. Melissa Ockerman (Ph.D. ’06), recipient of the 2017 OSU Susan Sears Distinguished Alumni Award, with doctoral students from the OSU Program


Alumni Panel in Foundations Class 9-17
Thank you to: (Front Row, (L-R): Rob Pence, Mary Lynch, Kara Bradley
Back Row, (L-R): Gina McDowell, Danielle Weatherholtz, Corey Boyer, Liz Collette, & Rachel Widmer


Alumni Panel with Foundations Students, September 2017


2017 Counselor Education Picnic



Counselor Education Team – Out of the Darkness Walk for Suicide Prevention 2017

Watching the Eclipse on Orientation Day 2017



Chi Sigma Iota Officers for the 2017-2018 Academic Year

President- Tori Schenker
Vice President – Grace Miller
Secretary – Deb Immel
Treasurer – Steffi Homan
Secretary – Jordan Rosenfield